Recovering EvilPlanet Wiki

Evil Genius is one of those games that is just a timeless classic. I’ve played it many years ago, and it always had a special place in my heart. It’s mechanic and art style is just so one-of-a-kind, and I could never find a replacement for it.

While the game stood the test of time, the communities didn’t. I was very sad to find that all the communities and resources have gone dark, EvilPlanet, EvilPlanet Wiki, Evil Genius Chat and all the carefully curated mods and articles within them were lost.

Recovering what’s left

Luckily, many of the pages were archived by Internet Archive, and I was able to pull a copy of EvilPlanet with around 300 out of the 500 wiki entries. After working on and off for a week or so, I collected snapshots into a presentable format you are seeing now.

This website

This is by no means a perfect collection, and many important articles have been lost, but this is the best information available so far. I have set up this website on WordPress.com, which provides the free (sub)domain and hosting. This way there is no need for maintenance on my part, and the free nature of it means the Wiki will stay alive in the foreseeable future.

Once in a while, you may see an ad or two — these are inserted by WordPress.com to recoup the cost of hosting, all the proceeds goes to WordPress.com for providing this great service. I do not making any money from this website or hope to do so.

Contributing

Some ways you can contribute to the recovery effort:

Lost entries: Add an entry that is highly important to the gameplay and is currently missing from the Wiki

Broken pages/links: Report pages that are seriously broken, or if any links do not work

Errors: Report major errors in the Wiki and submit a corrected version

Contacting me

If you would like to contribute, you can contact me by email: codexofknowledge@outlook.com

– Dan

2 thoughts on “Recovering EvilPlanet Wiki

Leave a comment